who's receiving comvalid/bgpsentinel spam? (Re: BGP )

is anybody else receiving this spam when they advertise a new AS nowadays?
(i'm trying to figure out which whois information is being policy-violated
and who to complain about, but if i'm the only one receiving it, i may JHD.)


# From: "Antony Gullusci" <gullusci@comvalid.com>
# To: <paul_vixie@isc.org>
# Subject: BGP
# Date: Thu, 15 Dec 2005 14:09:19 +0100
# X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.2180

your not the only one...


# your not the only one...

do you think it's worth complaining, or is this another "hey, you put your
contact information out there, we're just using it, and the mail isn't spam,
it's absolutely on-topic?" spammer?

They are likely violating policy of their ISP in regarding to sending unsolicitied advertisement (if that is what it is), look at which
mail server was used to send this email and complain.

What they appear to have done is look at who is announcing what ip block
and in that case it is BGP table is free for use for
whatever needs, so no violation there. But they do appear to have looked
in apnic whois to find contact person afterwards. APNIC whois has what
they call "copyright terms" at http://www.apnic.net/db/dbcopyright.html
which says:
  "...Any use of this material to target advertising or similar activities are explicitly forbidden and will be prosecuted. APNIC requests to be notified of any such activities or suspicions thereof".
  As far as I know the address for complaints like this at APNIC is

Unfortunetly if they sent the same adveritsement to somebody who has ip
block in ARIN whois, they would not be violating any policy because ARIN
does not have terms of use for their WHOIS despite me trying to introduce
it several years back...