URGENT: Operational Integrity Problem with IQ-INTERNET.COM

Reference: Sprint Customer Larry Host
Problem Summary: Out of control mail loop

1. For the past 48 or so hours all e-mail from the domain
IQ-INTERNET.COM has been blocked from our domain, STD.COM. All such
email is refused with an immediate error message by our (std.com)

2. The account lhost@iq-internet.com, owner or adminstrator of this
iq-internet.com domain, has been informed of this many times in this
period. Messages have been left on their answering machine. Sprint
personnel attempted to relay this message to him though I do not know
if they were successful. Sprint security personnel have publically and
privately (to me) acknowledged the problem.

3. Electronic mail continues to be sent (as of 17:17 EST) from
iq-internet.com to world.std.com at a rate of several messages per
minute, each one refused.


There is no reason for a host to send thousands of email msgs each
being refused long after being informed of this state of affairs

  a) maliciousness
  b) severe technical failure or error,
  or gross operating negligence.

I informed Sprint of this several hours ago, I reported it as a
*TECHNICAL* problem although apparently Sprint network personnel
continue to infer that they can read the system owner's mind and
intuit that he is doing this for relatively innocent or purposeful
reasons such that Sprint can not get involved.

I assert this judgement by Sprint network personnel is a serious error
and Sprint is ignoring a severe technical problem to the active
detriment of the world-wide internetwork.

There is a knowing dereliction of TECHNICAL AND OPERATIONAL
responsibilities occurring here, and this abrogation of administrative
responsibility is causing my business palpable damage, with full
knowledge of authorized Sprint network operational and security
personnel and more than sufficient time for them to have responded.

xc: Sprint Legal Dept, Software Tool & Die Counsel

FYI, I have received several spams from this source in the last few days,
and have sent complaints to appropriate abuse/postmaster accounts at
providers including Sprint. The question in my mind is increasingly not
what is in the source client's mind, but whether the traffic is violating
Sprint's usage policies.

Anyone else been receiving abuse from this source?

Howard Berkowitz

Yes it is. They claim that you can be removed from their mailing lists
by replying with "NO MAIL" as the subject line, but it does not work.
I just received another SPAM from them.

Michael Dillon - Internet & ISP Consulting
Memra Software Inc. - Fax: +1-604-546-3049
http://www.memra.com - E-mail: michael@memra.com

Once more, it's not spam, it is clearly an out of control process, it
continues sending thousands and thousands of messages even when they
are all refused by a site, for 48+ hours, and no administrator at the
source site acknowledges the problem, there's no reason to even
believe anyone is there (you get an answering machine, email is
unanswered, etc.)

That's a technical/operational problem (or has to be treated as such.)

IQ-INTERNET.COM should be blocked until they indicate that they are
credibly in control of their software.

It is impossible for me to believe that they can be allowed to claim
that they are doing something purposeful and within their rights when
we can show that for 48 hours they have sent thousands of messages,
several per minute, which have all been returned with errors.

That's like believing a guy driving down a hill without brakes is
merely in a rush.

Look, even Spam-King Slaton, the best living argument for post-natal
abortion, can have a bug forcing his site's connectivity to be shut
down. It happens, and it's even more likely to happen at a site like
his where he prefers unattended operation involving sending out, I
assume, millions of email msgs automatically.

Let's try hard to get our collective heads out of our collective
asses, OK? We all know what a loop out of control is.