RADB

Hi,

I really don't know where else to post this. I recently subscribed to RADB and added route objects and route6 objects for our prefixes we announce. Of course an aut-num object was created and I created a list of ASN's that are downstream customers in an as-set list. But, since this is my first time ever subscribing to a routing registry, I really don't know for sure that I'm doing everything correctly. So, I submitted an e-mail to RADB and requested that they review what I've done and to see if I'm doing it correctly. Well, the reply I received was far less than I could have ever imagined:

"RADb is a self-serve service. If you have specific questions, we can
address those. However, the type of audit requested is not a part of the standard offering associated with this service."

So my question is, how am I supposed to verify that what I've done is what is supposed to be done and that I am doing this correctly?

My next question is, why would RADB offer zero support for confirming this? And lastly, why should my organization pay $500 per year to a service that is unwilling to assist in making sure their subscriber is using their service properly?

Best regards,
Brandon Wade

radb.net checks for syntactic correctness of database objects. Semantic
analysis is network dependent and is outside the scope of what the RADB
staff can provide. If you need this, you should hire someone who
understands your network and who can determine whether your irrdb objects
are a reasonable representation of your routing policy.

Nick

You can also verify the object configurations from another IRRd, such
as Level(3)

whois -h filtergen.level3.net "RADB::YOUR-AS-SET
-searchpath=RIPE;ARIN;RADB -recurseok -warnonly"

You can limit the searchpath to just include RADB if you wish, but
it's good to know what else is out there.

charles

I can relate to this, having gone thru a similar process/experience fairly recently in using IRRd..

So the real question Brandon is asking..