mpls over microwave

Anyone doing MPLS over microwave radios? Please
share your experiences on list or off.

scott

We are. What would you like to know?

Shouldn't really be any different as long as your gear supports the appropriate MTUs.

I have been running MPLS over TDM and Ethernet microwave for about 8 years and the only issues are with microwave fade.

Nathan Sipes
Principal Network Architect
Tel: 713-369-9866
FAX: 303-763-3510
Kinder Morgan
1001 Louisiana St
KMB 548
Houston, TX
Nathan_Sipes@kindermorgan.com

Not doing anymore, but I have in a previous life. It works. What's more important is how you engineered your radios and what you're using...

Best regards,
Christian

I work for a fixed wireless provider, and our mpls-capable backhauls are
all running mpls with 9200 MTU with no problem. The only weirdness I
encounter is if I have multiple equal-cost routes to the same location, one
over MPLS and one not, end up having ping/unreachable issues from my
monitoring equipment. The solution has been to cost one path (the MPLS)
lower than the other. The only other problem I had was with radio's that
didn't support larger 9000+ byte MTU packets - we've phased that radio out
for now. if you run MPLS with 1500 byte MTU, you'll have issues with 1500
byte packets with the DF-bit set. That was a nasty discovery in the
production network, your mileage will not vary with that problem.

eric at techintegrity dot com
619-335-8148 voice & text
www.techintegrity.com
ericlouie on Twitter

Done it, and it works well. Used Motorola radios, and the key is the radio and building that part of the infrastructure right. The MPLS is just another IP packet to the wireless. Always used Ethernet handoffs on the radios to keep things simple.

Make sure you have good line of site, have ample fade or lack of, and you take vegetation growth in to consideration. Also make sure you buy stuff that handles jumbo frames and enable that, so that you don't have issues with fragmentation.