Enterprise GPON / Zhone Questions

Hello fellow NANOG members :slight_smile:

Let me start with a little bit of background, my day job is a Network Engineer for a local university where we have primarily a Cisco environment from phones to switching to routing, etc. Before my time, we hired a contractor to design a GPON LAN system for a new building as a cost saving measure (though I am not sure how successful that was).

Either way, the contractor is about to hand the system off to us, and we have gone through the training and such, and I feel confident in my ability to manage the system, but we have a few questions that the manufacturer of our equipment and our contractor didn’t really want to answer. We are currently using a Dasan Zhone MXK-F1419 with several different downstream ONT models (all Zhone).

-We would like to consider use of 3rd party GPON B+ Optics on the linecards to add redundancy to the splitter (as the cost of 1st party are too high). Does anyone have experience with 3rd party vendors/compatibility/stability issues? We were told they theoretically should work and just throw a log event, but it hasn’t been tested. If so, what vendors would you recommend? So far all we’ve really seen are Ubiquiti and Fiberstore optics.

-As GPON is a standard itself, I’m aware interoperability between OLT and ONT vendors is heavily limited… Does anyone have any experience using say, Zhone ONT’s with a different model OLT, or Zhone ONT’s with a different model OLT? I’ve heard word that Zhone ONT’s may be able to work with Nokia OLT’s but it’s technically not supported.

-We’ve already experienced some pretty big stability issues (have replaced 1 line card 5 times…), our contractor is saying it’s just because we were a pretty early adopter of this line and that they’ve fixed it and fixed internal policies to add additional QA and testing before shipping to customers. Does anyone have any experience with working with Zhone and their overall stability of components?