DPDK and energy efficiency

Hello folks,

I’ve just followed a thread regarding use of CGNAT and noted a suggestion (regarding DANOS) that includes use of DPDK.

As I’m interested in the breadth of adoption of DPDK, and as I’m a researcher into energy and power efficiency, I’d love to hear your feedback on your use of power consumption control by DPDK.

I’ve drawn up a bare-bones, 2-question survey at this link:

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/J886DPY.

Responses have been set to anonymous.

Cheers,

Etienne

I’m very happy to see interest in DPDK and power consumption.

But IMHO, the questions do not cover the actual reality of DPDK.
That característic of “100% CPU” depends on several aspects, like:

• How old are the hardware on DPDK.
  • What type of DPDK Instructions are made(Very Dynamic as Statefull CGNAT, ou Static ACLs?)
  • Using or not the measurements of DPDK Input/Drop/Fowarding.
  • CPU Affinity done according to the demand of traffic
  • SR-IOV (sharing resources) on DPDK.

The way I saw, the questions induce the public to conclude that DPDK ALWAYS has 100% CPU usage, which is not true.

The way I saw, the questions induce the public to conclude that DPDK ALWAYS has 100% CPU usage, which is not true.

I don’t concur.

Every research paper I’ve read indicates that, regardless of whether it has packets to process or not, DPDK PMDs (poll-mode drivers) prevent the CPU from falling into an LPI (low-power idle).

When it has no packets to process, the PMD runs the processor in a polling loop that keeps utilization of the running core at 100%.

Cheers,

Etienne

It consumes 100% only if you busy poll (which is the default approach).
One can switch between polling and interrupts (or monitor, if supported),
or introduce halt instructions, in case of low/medium traffic volume.

Here are a few references.