Contact for "The World"

Does anyone have a contact @ The World?

They are not listed in Jared's NOC list nor do postmaster@ or
mailer-daemon@ seem to have a human behind the wheel.

As an aside, they send one of the most annoying spam-receipt-auto-ack's
I've ever seen and the fact that you can't even reply to it is even more
annoying. (sent from mailer-daemon)

ISPs like them make the necessary evil of running an active abuse-desk all
the more frustrating.


Have you tried ? (I haven't.)

Tony Rall

You mena std (Software Tool and die) as in or at least that
is how I remember them...

Software Tool & Die (STD-DOM)
   1330 Beacon Street, Suite 215
   Brookline, MA 02446

   Domain Name: STD.COM

   Administrative Contact:
      Shein, Barry (37295864P) netadmin@WORLD.STD.COM
      1330 Beacon Street, Suite 215
      Brookline, MA 02446
      (617) 739-0202

   Technical Contact:
      Shein, Barry (BS25) netadmin@WORLD.STD.COM
      1330 Beacon Street Suite 215
      Brookline, MA 02146
      617-739-0202 fax: 617-739-0914

   Record expires on 13-Jun-2005.
   Record created on 14-Jun-1989.
   Database last updated on 14-Dec-2004 03:49:58 EST.

   Domain servers in listed order:


On Dec 13, 2004 David A. Ulevitch spake:

Have you tried ? (I haven't.)

Tony Rall

<quote who="Tony Rall">

Does anyone have a contact @ The World?

Have you tried ? (I haven't.)

My abuse desk was simply trying to reply to their email. It's not our job
to hunt down the right address. They sent the mail from mailer-daemon, we
respond to mailer-daemon. if they sent it from abuse@ or netadmin@ we'd
respond to that. Unless it was something like noreply@ we'd probably just
reply to the address it came from.

Hhere are some choice quotes that were sent to our desk from his email
(from which is a bitbucket as far as I can

" is the responsible party for these and a huge number of
other recent spams that tout illegal and fraudulent products, services and

^^^^ This is false. In fact, we hardly ever send out email from our
servers. My personal email (this email) is coming from that netblock, not
much else. Occasionally when one of our users does something wrong and is
using our DNS servers we detect it and null0 it before we ever get the
first report. I like to think we have a good repuation, particularly
among those who provide free network services.

"The unread message which you just sent to an unassigned address on our
network, and which follows, has already been sent to law enforcement
authorities. Hopefully you will be sent to them as well, shortly."

^^^^ Thanks, that's a very nice thing to say to other people working to
help you out.