RE: Second day of rolling blackouts starts

The US and Canada are still divided into essentially three electrical
grids: East, West and Texas. Texas choose not to join the national
grids because they objected to some policies of the Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission.

You can find details about the national grids on the NERC web site.