NPSec 2014: Call for Papers (Submission Deadline Extended: July 17)

Ninth Workshop on Secure Network Protocols (NPSec 2014)

Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

October 21, 2014

In conjunction with the 22nd IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols (ICNP 2014)

Web page:

Important Dates

   Submission Deadline (extended): July 17, 2014 (11:59 PM PDT)
   Notification of acceptance: August 2, 2014
   Camera ready version: August 16, 2014


   The Workshop on Secure Network Protocols (NPSec) is a top workshop
   focusing on cutting-edge research with a broad range of topics
   related to secure network protocols. NPSec 2014 focuses on two exciting
   areas related to secure network protocols. The first focus is on
   the development and analysis of networking protocols for the secure
   operation of various network infrastructures, including both today's
   Internet and future Internet architectures, wireless and mobile
   networking, cloud-based networking, peer-to-peer and overlay networks,
   online social networking, and Internet of things. Papers about new
   secure protocols, security enhancements to existing protocols, or
   protocol analysis (such as new attacks on existing protocols) are all
   welcome. The second focus is on employing such secure network protocols
   to create or enhance network applications, such as those related to the
   Web, online social networking, online gaming, or cloud-based applications.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

   Vulnerabilities of existing protocols and applications (both theoretical
         and case studies), including attacks;
   Design of new secure or resilient network protocols;
   Security enhancements to existing networking protocols;
   Deployment study of secure protocols on the Internet (e.g., BGPSEC, DNSSEC,
   Security in future Internet architectures (e.g. Information-centric
         networking, software-defined networking);
   Secure network protocols for network applications (e.g., cloud-based apps,
         online social networking, gaming)

Submission Requirements

   Papers need to be submitted at the web page
   Submitted papers must be no longer than six (6) pages in double-column format
   with standard margins (i.e., at least one inch all around) and at least a 10
   point font. This length includes everything: figures, tables, references,
   appendices, and so forth. Longer submissions will not be reviewed.

   Papers must be written in English and formatted for printing on US LETTER
   (8.5" by 11") size paper. Papers should include a title; full list of authors,
   their organization and email address; and an abstract of fewer than 200 words.

   All papers must adhere to IEEE formatting standards. Consult the
   IEEE Transactions LaTeX and Microsoft Word Style Files
   Papers must be submitted in PDF (Portable Document Format) and compatible with
   Acrobat (English version), not including any special characters or
   non-standard fonts.

Best Paper Award and Journal Publication

   The Best Paper Award Committee of NPSec 2014 will select a paper in this year's
   NPSec Program to receive the Best Paper Award. Every accepted paper will be
   considered based on its originality, writing quality, potential of impact,
   and its presentation at the workshop.

   We are further working on establishing a journal special issue on secure
   network protocols. While open to the public, the special issue will also
   invite the authors of quality papers from NPSec to submit an extended
   version of their work.

Steering Committee

   Sonia Fahmy, Purdue University, USA (chair)
   George Kesidis, Penn State University, USA
   Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University, USA
   Gene Tsudik, UC Irvine, USA

Technical Program Committee

   Johanna Amann, International Computer Science Institute
   Fred Baker, Cisco Research Center
   Randy Bush, Internet Initiative Japan
   Wu-chang Feng, Portland State University
   Stephen Kent, BBN Technololgies
   Huan Li, Beihang University
   Qi Li, ETH Zurich
   Olaf Maennel, Loughborough University
   Daniel Massey, US Department of Homeland Security
   Colin Perkins, University of Glasgow
   Peter Reiher, UCLA
   Lan Wang, University of Memphis
   Brian Weis, Cisco Systems
   Tilman Wolf, University of Massachusetts
   Ying Zhang, Ericsson Research
   Xukai Zou, School of Science, Purdue University-Indianapolis

Technical Program Committee Chairs

   Jun Li, University of Oregon, USA
   Wei Zhao, University of Macau, China