[NANOG-announce] Reminder: NANOG Steering Committee nominations are open

This is a quick reminder that nominations for the NANOG Steering Committee election are still open. The deadline for nominations is in about a week, on Monday, August 30.

Also, nominations for Program Committee membership will be accepted beginning this Tuesday, August 24.

Elections for three of the six elected positions on the NANOG Steering Committee will be held in October, 2010, for two-year terms ending in October, 2012.

The current SC members whose terms are expiring are Patrick Gilmore, Joe Provo, and Robert Seastrom. Joe is finishing his second consecutive term, so per the charter, cannot be considered for reelection until October 2011.
If you care about NANOG as a forum, and think you would like to take a turn at volunteering your time to help make it better, please consider either volunteering yourself or nominating someone else.

For more information about the role of the Steering Committee, or to find out more about what's involved in being a Steering Committee member, please consult the NANOG charter or contact someone who is already serving and ask them directly.


Per the charter, Steering Committee members must attend at least two of three NANOG meetings per year while in office.


You may nominate someone else, or yourself. There is no limit to the number of nominations that may be submitted by a single person. Individual nominees will be contacted directly to confirm that they are willing to accept the nomination, and so that they can supply a biography for the NANOG web page.

To submit a nomination, send the nominee's full name and contact details to nominations@nanog.org. The deadline for nominations is 11:59 PM EDT on Monday, August 30.

The candidates will be given an opportunity to make brief comments and/or accept questions from the community at the NANOG 50 Community Meeting on Sunday, October 3.

As a reminder, the full election timeline is:

Aug. 2 - SC Nominations begin
Aug. 24 - Potential charter amendments discussed in nanog-futures
Aug. 24 - PC Nominations begin
Aug. 30 - SC Candidate information posted/nominations close
Sep. 13 - Call for Communications Committee nominations
Sep. 21 - Ballot approved
Oct. 3 - Voting opens at 12:00 EDT
Oct. 4 - PC Candidate Information posted/nominations close
Oct. 6 - Voting closes at 09:15 EDT, results announced
          before the close of NANOG 50.

For the SC,
    Steve Feldman

The deadline for nominations for the NANOG Steering Committee is tomorrow, at 11:59 PM EDT on Monday, August 30.

If you are interested in running for an SC position, or know someone who might be a good candidate, please send the nomination to nominations@nanog.org. More details are below.

This is a very important time in the evolution of NANOG, and the SC members elected this fall will have a great opportunity to help represent the community and shape our future.

For the SC,
   Steve Feldman