Exodus Down

Forwarded message from "Lewis E. Wolfgang" <wolfgang@nosc.mil>

Something is definitely rotten here.

Whois reports:

   IP Address:
   Registrar: TUCOWS, INC.
   Whois Server: whois.opensrs.net
   Referral URL: http://www.opensrs.org

   Domain Name: SLASHDOT.ORG
   Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
   Referral URL: http://www.networksolutions.com
   Name Server: NS1.ANDOVER.NET
   Name Server: NS2.ANDOVER.NET
   Updated Date: 13-jun-2001

I've never seen whois report two registrars, especially one that says

Then you haven't been reading here for very long. Every couple of
months, someone does a query like this and posts the results thinking
they've found something signifigant. They haven't. What they have
found is that someone:
  (1) Registered JIMPHILLIPS.ORG,
  (2) Created a Name Server in the JIMPHILLIPS.ORG domain,
  (3) Decided to name that server:

For more fun, try "whois -h whois.internic.net microsoft.com".

I'd guess that some cracker broke something somewhere? Maybe a
DNS crack? Maybe Andover went bankrupt and pulled the plug
on us? Maybe Micro$oft is behind this?

Well, somthign might well be going on. But it has absolutely nothing
to do with the fact that someone registered a name server whose name
comtains the string "SLASHDOT.ORG".

Merit, for example, could create a new nameserver and call it:
and then three things would show up with you did a whois on

     -- Brett