Ethernet Services cards types & queue values


There is different types for the Cisco 7600 Series Ethernet Services cards.
( More expensive cards with high queue values and less expensive cards with
low queue values.)
Hardware queues
ES Plus XT 40G line cards
• 128,000 ingress queues
• 256,000 egress queues
ES Plus XT 20G line cards
*• 64,000 ingress queues*
• 128,000 egress queues
Hierarchical QoS (H-QoS)
Hardware queues
Cisco 7600 Series ES Plus Transport 40G and 20G Line Cards
*Supporting up to 16 level 4 queues per physical port*
Hierarchical QoS (H-QoS)

Low queue cards have got only 4 queues per physical port. High queue cards
have got minimum 64.000 queue. This is very huge difference. In what kind
of scenario do we have to use the High queue cards ? Could you give some
examples please ? Kind Regards.



The idea is that you use the high queue cards as UNI ports terminating
customers, where you would have many service instances and complex QOS
policies such hierarchical shaping and multiple classes per customer.

On the core links you would usually need less queues as you would have a
generic aggregated QOS policy.

Specifically on the 7600 I think you are looking at the "regular" LAN
modules (as opposed to the ES20/ES+ modules) which have the lower queue
numbers per port. These modules (the LAN modules) also have more limited
functionality support as they do not have the ability to support many
features supported only on the ES modules.
For some services/features you would require the ES modules to be on either
UNI or NNI (depending on what you want to achieve).

For ASR9000 there are also a few module types following the same model
above. More queues for UNI and less queues (and thus cheaper) for NNI, but
in this case supporting all the different features.